Alison: American Idiot

Well hello!

I’m Alison, and I manage our staff of wonderful concierges at various hotel desks throughout New York City.  I’ve been with New York Guest for over 3 years now.  The most rewarding part of my job is speaking to you, the guests of New York City!  I have helped people from all over the world with all kinds of requests, from simple directions to elaborate event planning assistance. I’m originally from Birmingham, Alabama so I know how overwhelming New York City can feel when you first arrive.  My job is to help you love it as much as I do– and thankfully New York City makes that a very easy task.  I love sharing my personal experiences, especially when it comes to theatre and food!

As a child of the 80s and teenager of the 90s, I LOVE the rock band Green Day.  I also happen to be a lover of all things Broadway, which means American Idiot is exactly my kind of musical.  The show currently stars Green Day’s lead singer, Billie Joe Armstrong, for select performances through January and February. While I thoroughly enjoyed the show the first time I saw it last fall, I just had to see it again with Armstrong at the helm. And I am happy to report that I was not in the least bit disappointed,  in fact, I was blown away by all that Armstrong brings to the show with his performance.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

American Idiot is 90 straight minutes of punk-rock, chaotic bliss.  Every second is filled with multiple scenes, sights and sounds to take in.  I cannot get over the talent level of every cast member and the passion each one brings to their roles.  But it’s more than just the music of my generation.  It’s the story of what it’s like to grow up in an age where everyone is addicted to technology and believes the lies they’re told via the media.  Three men (and their peers) navigate through their lives and find out what it’s like to leave the comforts of home and venture out on their own.  It’s a powerful web of stories, supported by an incredible score and script.  I’ll see it again and again.  In fact, I already have my ticket for a show next week!

Want to come with me?  Since performances with Bille Joe Armstrong are limited, don’t wait to get your tickets! Though this show is always amazing, performances featuring Armstrong are truly special. Contact a New York Guest travel planner for tickets or purchase American Idiot tickets on our website!

All photos ©Valerie Schooling
Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway Review, Staff Intro

Leave a Reply

