Terra: You Never Forget Your First Glimpse of New York City

My 7th Grade Class before getting on the bus to NYC

When I was in the 7th grade in the early 80’s I signed up for a school trip to New York City with my teachers and classmates. I had never been to NYC before so I didn’t hesitate to take the opportunity to go with my school!  I think it cost $300 for the bus ride from Washington, D.C. to Manhattan, 2 nights hotel near Times Square, meals, sightseeing and a ticket to see the show 42nd Street on Broadway.

I will never forget that first glimpse you get of Manhattan when driving up via the Jersey Turnpike. All the kids had their noses pressed up against the bus windows, looking for the Empire State Building and the shine of the Chrysler Building. We were all giddy with excitement for the weekend that lay ahead.

I don’t remember what hotel we stayed in, but it was clean and comfortable and fit 4 students per room. I am sure we didn’t get much sleep, with all the excitement of being away from home. But who needs sleep in the City that Never Sleeps? We all ate breakfast together before heading out for some sightseeing. We went to the Statue of Liberty, the World Trade Center, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, one of the museums and of course Times Square.  We learned a lot about US History, art, architecture and social studies on this trip; it brought what we were learning in the classroom truly to life.

Seeing 42nd Street was the crown jewel of the trip. I had never been to the theatre before, much less a Broadway show! It was full of energy, dancing, glittery costumes and was just every thing a 13 year-old could ever want. I was hooked on New York City and knew right then and there I would move here. And then not too many years later, I did!

One of the things I love about working for New York Guest is that I get to provide that same exciting experience for student groups (and other travelers as well) that come to New York from all over the world.  It’s just not possible to forget your first visit to New York City! For so many people that experience shapes how they see the world. For me, it was the spark that led me to lead a life filled with travel and exploring new places. I truly believe it was a turning point, even at such a young age.

Are you a teacher or school administrator? Why not consider bring your students to New York City? We can provide educational itineraries to supplement classroom learning in many subjects. We make it easy for teachers and other group organizers by providing excellent group rates and all the logistic help required. Why do all the time consuming group travel planning when we can do it for you? Contact us today to start booking your New York City group travel!

Leave a comment

Filed under Group Travel, NYC News and Information, Student Travel

Leave a Reply

