Million Dollar Quartet – Broadway Review

By Jana

As an actress I love all things related to Broadway. Although Million Dollar Quartet is a show that is predominately male (meaning I would most likely not be cast in it), it was one of the most enjoyable shows I have ever seen! It dramatizes the Million Dollar Quartet recording session of 1956, among early rock and roll stars: Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash and Carl Perkins, and newcomer Jerry Lee Lewis

The Real Million Dollar Quartet - 1956

The Real Million Dollar Quartet - 1956

A brief synopsis: The Show takes place during the year 1956. Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins and Elvis Presley assemble at the Sun Record recording studio in Memphis, Tennessee. Established performer Carl Perkins was to record songs with a new performer, Jerry Lee Lewis. Elvis Presley stops by the studio along with his girlfriend Dyanne.  Johnny Cash has stopped by to talk to recording impresario Sam Philips. They soon have a jam session together during which they produce some pretty amazing music. Philips attempts to sign Johnny Cash to a contract, unaware he has already signed elsewhere.

Million Dollar Quartet on Broadway

I absolutely loved Million Dollar Quartet–  from the upbeat music to the wonderful costumes. The actors really portrayed these characters very well! I particularly liked the portrayal of Elvis Presley; actor Eddie Clendening certainly looks like the real deal. It felt like Elvis was really in the building! The actors are wonderful musicians in their own right as they play their own instruments as well. During the show, I was surprised and delighted that people were actually getting up and dancing in their seats! The vibe was extremely laid back and was a whole lot of fun.

Eddie Clendening as Elvis

Since I am a Broadway guru, I tend to analyze performances to the minute detail. I was very impressed by the actors/musicians that were consistently onstage throughout the ENTIRE performance. From experience, it really takes a lot of discipline and hard work to be on stage for that long!

The Music is the number one highlight of the Million Dollar Quartet. I loved it so much  that I purchased the cast recording album. Some of my favorite numbers were:

Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On

Fever

I Walk the Line

Blue Suede Shoes (of course!)

And yes, I was one of the people dancing in their seats; I admit it!

I recommend this Show for those that enjoy concerts and who want a more laid back/unstuffy Broadway experience.

Please let me know if this sounds like a Show you would like to see! I am happy to check on availability and obtain the best available seating for you or you can check ticket availability for Million Dollar Quartet right on our website. We even have a video preview available to watch! You can contact me at Jurban@newyorkguest.com for ticket availability as well as information on any other Broadway Performances.

Have you seen this show? Tell us about your experience in the comments!

Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway Review

Leave a Reply

