Biking in Central Park

Greetings!  My name is Alicia and I am one of the New York Guest Concierges!  I have lived in New York almost 10 years and certify myself a New Yorker.  What do I love about being a concierge, you ask? I have the opportunity to make every guest fall in love with New York the way I have over the years.  I’ve gone from being a visitor to an official resident, with lots of secret NYC tips!  And . . . since I can’t keep a secret . . . this partnership is a match made in heaven!  I love the feeling I get when a guest returns to my desk and says “that was amazing, we never would have known to go there!”

Over the years I have had a chance to explore many of the amazing things New York has to offer.  One of my favorite places to go is Central Park. Pair this up with a bicycle and there you have it, one of the best warm weather activities in the city!   The major advantage of exploring Central Park via bicycle is the ability to see a lot of park in a very short amount of time.  There is one main loop which runs the entire circumference of the park.  It is closed to traffic on weekdays for a period of time during the day and all weekend.  While I normally love to see all the yellow cabs racing by, I certainly don’t want to compete with them on the open road!

My husband, Peter, a top a bolder in Central Park

While taking off and exploring the park on a bike is a great way to see everything, it is probably best to bike with someone who is familiar with riding in the park.  While the park is  safe for bikers, keep in mind you share the road with pedestrians, skaters, pedi-cabs and even horses!  Some paths are “pedestrian” only and a clear knowledge of the rules and regulations will ensure your ride is safe and a law abiding one.

While biking in the park, sites not to miss include:  Conservatory Water, the famous sail boat pond featured in the movie Stewart Little; Blato, a statue of the sled dog who became famous during the1925 serum run to Nome; Loeb Boathouse, where you can rent a rowboat by the hour to explore the Lake; Cleopatra’s Needle, the oldest man-made object in the park.  Also, be sure to swing by a few of the big boulders throughout the park – remnants of the last ice age! If you climb on top, you can see the grooves (striations) cut by the ice-sheets moving north and south over 12,000 years ago!

Tip: Pack a lunch and pair your Central Park biking adventure with a picnic in the park!

There are so many things to see . . . . This isn’t even the tip of the iceberg!  You should make your way to the closet bicycle and set out to discover your own Central Park gems!  For first-timers I highly recommend signing up for a guided bike tour of Central Park.  So many things to see . . . . it’s a good idea to ride along with someone who will make sure you don’t miss out on the amazing sites!

— Alicia

Leave a comment

Filed under New York Sightseeing, NYC News and Information, Staff Intro

Leave a Reply

