The Passing of a Broadway Legend

Hello Everyone!  It‘s Alicia here, one of New York Guest’s concierges.  Today is a going to be a bittersweet day here in New York City.  Beautiful weather with temperatures that will hit the 70’s (Boy has it been a long winter!) but at the same time we are mourning the loss of the great Arthur Laurents who passed away yesterday.  He was 93. 

Arthur Laurents in 1984 outside the Broadway theater where "La Cage aux Folles" was staged. (Oliver Morris / Los Angeles Times)

Arthur was a theater and film superstar.  He is responsible for great works that include the screenplay The Way We Were and the books to Gypsy and West Side Story, two of the most successful musicals ever written.  

 I had the pleasure of working with Arthur when I was cast in the most recent revival of Gypsy, which he directed.  As I spent time with him, it was obvious that he brought out the best in every actor within a 5 mile radius.  Put him with Patti Lupone and Boyd Gains, and you have the most amazing acting class an actor could ever take!  During my short year with him, I absorbed everything I possibly could . . . his stories . . . his notes . . . his presence.   I thought Arthur was a kind and gentle creative soul . . . who ran a tight ship! 

Me and Arthur at the closting of Broadway's "Gypsy"

When I attended Arthur’s 90th Birthday party in the attic of City Center in the summer of 2007, he spent his party posing for pictures and signing Gypsy posters for all the cast and crew – how generous.   I have such wonderful memories of Arthur, for he gave me my Broadway debut and for that I am very grateful.  This news makes me sad . . . however the memories do not.

Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway News, New York Stories

Leave a Reply

