Phantom of the Opera: A Broadway Classic

by Eileen, New York Guest Travel Planner

The Phantom of the Opera is one of the first musicals I can remember seeing. Sure I had seen Beauty and the Beast, Peter Pan, and the Radio City Christmas Spectacular. But it was Phantom of the Opera I remember the most distinctly. Maybe it was the music, maybe it was the Phantom, maybe it was because at times I was actually frightened during the show— which ever it was I remember seeing the show when I was ten and deciding to never see it again.

Twelve years later I was presented with the great opportunity to revisit the show. In the span of twelve years the Phantom of the Opera had been adapted to a movie and earned the title of the longest running show on Broadway. I figured the show had earned a chance to win me over one and for all. Sitting in the center of the orchestra by myself on a cold windy night, I decided to open my mind and disregard my previous sentiments.

From the opening song to the poignant finale, the Phantom of the Opera steals you away for two hours and offers the best that musical theatre has to offer. The music immediately draws you in and you can’t help but relinquish all thoughts and feelings to that moment in the theatre. Based on the book Le Fantôme de l’Opéra by Gaston Leroux, the musical focuses on the thin line between love and obsession. Factor in wonderful music by Sir Andrew Llyod Webber and you have a dramatic musical that takes you on an emotional rollercoaster from start to finish.

Those with a flare for dramatics will truly appreciate the Phantom of the Opera. The stage production is close to unrivaled on Broadway. Watch as candles rise from the mist during the title song, feel the flame of the pyro that goes off during a particularly daring duel. The Phantom offers a true Broadway experience for those attending their first show or those attending their one hundredth. I know it definitely redefined the Broadway experience for me.

If you’d like to book a trip and include the Phantom of the Opera tickets, please contact me at efitzgerald@newyorkguest.com. Also check out my review for How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying!

Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway Review

Leave a Reply

