The Tony’s: Our Predictions – and Yours!

We’re speculating on the Tony Award winners and we want you to join us! Below are predictions from four of our Broadway-loving team members: Louise, Kelly, William and Eileen. Check out what we think and vote for who you’d give it to in each category – then scroll to the bottom to submit your own predictions. The entry that has the most correct guesses will win a Tony Prize Pack!

 

 

Best Musical

Louise
Who I think will win: Newsies. it has the spirit, the dance numbers, the familiarity, and the long-standing devotion of many.
Who I’d give it to: Lysistrata Jones. It had a short run, but was truly original, energetic, fun and funny. I wish I’d had time to see it again!
Kelly
Who I think will win: Once. An argument can be made for Newsies, which is a bigger production and more of a “traditional” musical. But I’m going with Once – it has a quiet power that I think took everyone a bit by storm, and I’d be surprised if it didn’t take the award.
Who I’d give it to: If I had my way, it would have been a completely different race. I still would pick Once to take the win, but Lysistrata Jones would be my secret second-place wish.
William
Who I think will win: Once, because the competition in the catagory is found to be wanting.
Who I’d give it to: Once. The most creatively original show that’s been put out in a while, this show how a strong, tightly knit ensemble which delivers a humorously entertaining performance, and a story that will inspire you.
Eileen
Who I think will win: Once
Who I’d give it to: Once
Once was the best all around musical to come to the Broadway stage this season. With great performances by a solid cast, well written story, and poignant music Once is a shoe in for Best Musical Winner. There is also a strong case for Newsies, however I walked away deeply moved by Once.

Best Revival of a Musical

Louise
Who I think will win: Follies. That production was simply flawless from start to finish.
Who I’d give it to: Godspell. It was totally robbed of nominations and is the only show this season I’ve been to see multiple times – I love it!
Kelly
Who I think will win: Porgy and Bess. Follies might sneak in there and take the award as well, and I would be happy with either choice for a win – both are beautiful productions with wonderful scores to match.
Who I’d give it to: Though I adored Godspell, I would still give the win to Porgy and Bess.
William
Who I think will win: Porgy and Bess.
Who I’d give it to: I actually haven’t seen any of them yet, but Porgy & Bess still gets my vote!
Eileen
Who I think will win: Porgy and Bess.
Who I’d give it to: Porgy and Bess, though I am disappointed with the revival of Evita and think that it is a shame that Godspell was not nominated instead.

Best Play

Louise
Who I think will win: This is a tough one as all of these nominees are excellent and deserving, but I’m going with Venus in Fur. Smart, fun, exciting, and memorable!
Who I’d give it to: Peter and the Starcatcher. I LOVED Venus in Fur (saw it twice in fact), but Peter and the Starcatcher filled me with joy in a way that is so rare, I just want it to be recognized.
Kelly
Who I think will win: Other Desert Cities. The show has gotten the most buzz out of the four, and Tony voters LOVE a good drama. I’ll admit that I haven’t seen it, so I can’t be sure…but my prediction is that it will pick up the win.
Who I’d give it to: If ever there was a category that deserved a two-way tie, it’s this one. Both Venus in Fur and Peter and the Starcatcher are engaging, intense, and AMAZING works of theatre.
William
Who I think will win: Venus in Fur. This is the only play I have described as sexy! Witty, clever, and full of flirtatiousness this play is 90 minutes of foreplay delivered by the tantalizing cast of 2 who form an indelible powerhouse of acting.
Who I’d give it to: Venus in Fur. First, they will win because they deserve it. Second, because the other nominees have not received as much popularity or publicity.
Eileen
Who I think will win: Other Desert Cities
Who I’d give it to: All of the nominees!
This was a really tough choice as all of the new plays are really well done and performed. However it was Stockard Channing who won me over!



Best Revival of a Play

Louise
Who I think will win: Death of a Salesman. It’s not often you see plays on Broadway selling out every single night, so they must be doing something right (besides casting Philip Seymour Hoffman)
Who I’d give it to: Death of a Salesman
Kelly
Who I think will win: Death of a Salesman. Again, the show with the most buzz gets my vote. A classic Arthur Miller piece, this revival was star-studded and by all accounts has lived up to the tremendous expectations placed before it.
Who I’d give it to: I am ashamed to admit I have not had the chance to see any of the four plays nominated, which is rare for me. I have heard wonderful things about each nominee, but I would most likely lean towards Death of a Salesman, just because of how good I heard Philip Seymour Hoffman is.
William
Who I think will win: Death of a Salesman. Just because it’s a popular show and everyone loves Arthur Miller (though I’m not sure why)
Who I’d give it to: Death of a Salesman
Eileen
Who I think will win: Death of a Salesman
Who I’d give it to: Death of a Salesman
I love this play through and through— the solid cast really cements it as my choice.
A quick word about the other nominees: I didn’t care for The Best Man despite its all star cast. Masterclass and Wit are both really well done as well, but Arthur Miller will always hold a special place in my heart.

Best Leading Actor in a Musical

Louise
Who I think will win: Jeremy Jordan. He burst on to the scene this year with leading roles in both Bonnie & Clyde and Newsies, and he is phenomenal.
Who I’d give it to: Jeremy Jordan, but I’d also just like to mention that I’d give the Best Featured Actor award to Nick Blaemire in Godspell because he is just so darn charming.
Kelly
Who I think will win: Norm Lewis. Rumors are that Norm Lewis is playing the part of his career in Porgy and Bess, and I’m inclined to agree.
Who I’d give it to: I have to go with Norm Lewis. Porgy and Bess is such an undertaking, and left in less capable hands, it would be daunting. In Lewis’ hands, it is magical.
William
Who I think will win: Norm Lewis – just because him and Audra have gotten so much praise
Who I’d give it to: Steve Kazee. Powerful voice, skilled guitarist, great comedic timing, natural performance, and handsome. His performance immediately charms you and makes you pull for him all the way!
Eileen
Who I think will win: Norm Lewis
Who I’d give it to: Steve Kazee
I think Norm Lewis is going to take this one, although I would love to see Steve Kazee pull this one off. Kazee was incredible in Once. I would love to see Jeremy Jordan win this one, but I don’t think the American Theatre Wing would do it.

Best Leading Actress in a Musical

Louise
Who I think will win: Audra McDonald. I believe that woman is secretly hypnotizing people from the stage (not that I don’t think she’s awesome, but the look people get in their eyes when they talk about her is downright creepy)
Who I’d give it to: Jan Maxwell. It’s not easy to outshine Bernadette Peters when you’re sharing a stage with her, and I hate to admit that she kind of managed.
Kelly
Who I think will win: Audra McDonald. The woman is a force to be reckoned with. She has 4 Tony Awards under her belt already, and I would bet this year brings her a well-deserved number 5.
Who I’d give it to: Audra all the way. Though, again, this category is filled to the brim with deserving actresses
William
Who I think will win: Audra McDonald – just because she and Norm have gotten so much praise.
Who I’d give it to: Cristin Milioti – Powerful voice, great pianist, instantly charming, funny, witty. Her performance is moving and you can’t help but love her.
Eileen
Who I think will win: Christin Milioti
Who I’d give it to: Christin Milioti
I loved Once and Christin Milioti gave an amazing performance as the girl. I would love to see her win. This is a category full of talent! I can honestly see any of these amazing women win.

Best Leading Actress in a Play

Louise
Who I think will win: Nina Arianda. Her performance blew my mind both times I saw the show. I’ve never seen anything like it.
Who I’d give it to: Nina Arianda. See above.
Kelly
Who I think will win: Stockard Channing. I feel that Tony voters tend to lean more towards big names with dramatic shows behind them. This category is difficult for me to predict, because it really could go in several different directions. I wouldn’t be surprised to see Cynthia Nixon or even Nina Arianda take the win…but I’m betting Stockard Channing is the choice.
Who I’d give it to: Nina Arianda. NINA ARIANDA. This phenomenally talented actress may be young, but don’t count her out. Her mixture of effortless comedic and insightful and powerful dramatic acting is truly something to behold.
William
Who I think will win: Nina Arianda. Spot on naturalistic performance; sexy, funny, and keeps her partner on her toes.
Who I’d give it to: Nina Arianda.
Eileen
Who I think will win: Tracie Bennett
Who I’d give it to: Nina Arianda
Tracie Bennett gives the performance of a lifetime as Judy Garland at the end of her days. I think most people agree that she will win. Though this is a category full of incredible talent, I think Nina Arianda is the biggest threat; Arianda gave a seductive performance in Venus In Fur.

Best Leading Actor in a Play

Louise
Who I think will win: Philip Seymour Hoffman. He is bringing down the house every night in what is not exactly a feel-good role.
Who I’d give it to: John Lithgow. As a small token of my love and affection. (PS: Best Featured Actor in a Play 100% to Christian Borle for Peter and the Starcatcher. Pure brilliance from start to finish).
Kelly
Who I think will win: Philip Seymour Hoffman. I think he’ll take it…and deservedly so. The man is a great actor, both on stage and on screen.
Who I’d give it to: I have to give my vote to James Corden for One Man, Two Guvnors. His type of comedy is almost impossible to pull off well, and he is a master of his craft. His performance (well supported by his equally brilliant costars) had me gasping for air from laughing so hard…and revelling in the chance to see what felt like a once-in-a-blue-moon type of production.
William
Who I think will win: Philip Seymour Hoffman
Who I’d give it to: James Corden
Eileen
Who I think will win: Philip Seymour Hoffman
Who I’d give it to: Philip Seymour Hoffman
Phillip Seymour Hoffman tackles the role of Willy Loman with such vigor, and manages to capture the complexity of the character as few actors can. Although… Frank Langella gives a solid performance in Man and Boy. I think he might pull off a surprise upset.

Submit your own speculations: the entry that gets the most correct answers will win a Tony Prize Pack!

Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway News

Leave a Reply

