A perfect family dinner at Alfredo of Rome

by Tara, New York Guest Concierge

SAMSUNGBefore our trip to the Radio City Music Hall Christmas Spectacular, my friend, her mother and daughter, my aunt and I went to dine at Alfredo of Rome. Despite being a little late for our reservation (gotta love NYC traffic!) the hostess was very courteous and sat us right away. It was very busy for a Friday night in the city, as Rockefeller Center at Christmastime is bound to be, but we were greeted and had our order taken fairly quickly. My friend and my aunt split the Pailiard di Pollo with spinach and potatoes (They are both light eaters, and the entrée was enough for both of them and even to share some with me!), her mother had the Insalata Riccia (which I will be ordering on my next visit!), and I had the Trittica di Pasta. Her daughter is a picky eater, but they were able to accommodate us with penne and marinara.

SAMSUNGWhile waiting for our entrees we were given a bread basket with 2 dipping sauces, my favorite was the sweet chili (not too sweet and not too hot!) and my friend absolutely loved the tapenade. No sooner did we finish the bread when the entrees arrived (maybe 10 minutes!) Everything was delicious, and the portions were generous which made for some fun family style sharing. The chicken was delicious and juicy and the salad was perfectly seasoned and dressed. I got to enjoy their famous fettuccine alfredo, along with tasty veal ravioli and lasagna with a creamy cheese filling.

For dessert we ordered the tiramisu (my favorite) and the profiteroles which take 10-15 minutes to prepare, but the wait is worth it! The profiteroles came covered with a hazelnut sauce which, as a Nutella fan, I was very happy with. It was my friend’s mother’s birthday so we were also treated to a slice of chocolate cake with a candle (she was very surprised!) Her daughter was even given a complementary dish of vanilla gelato that was creamy and sweet.

alfredo3The manager is an absolute delight, visiting our table often, checking on how we were enjoying everything and even telling us about the man who makes the vanilla gelato! The waitress also kept an eye on the time because she knew we had to get to Radio City for the show, which I was grateful for because I had almost lost track of time. Everyone in my group had an enjoyable time; my friend was particularly happy because her mother had had such a good time and even finished her entire entrée (which she usually never does!) After going out to different restaurants and leaving disappointed, it has become difficult for them to eat out together, so she was happy to go to a place that her mother enjoyed. Needless to say, we would like to return during our next family outing to the city!

Did Tara’s review make you hungry? E-mail info@newyorkguest.com for your preferred Alfredo of Rome reservations!

Leave a comment

Filed under New York Restaurants

Leave a Reply

